Parents, faculty, administration, and the FC student body gathered in the Hornets Nest on Thursday afternoon for the 20th annual Academic Athletic Awards honoring excellence in academics and athletic achievement.

It was a special year for FC Athletics that had two programs (football and men's basketball) playing in the state championship games. Many team and individual goals were met this year from over 150 student-athletes from all of the Hornet teams. For that, the Fullerton College Physical Education/Athletic Department honored those deserving student-athletes for their tireless work in the classroom and in the playing field. Many scholarship awards were handed out to those hard-working sophomore's in order to help them further pursue their education and growth as individuals.

Many of the Fullerton College athletes were also honored as Hornet Scholars maintaining a 3.0 G.P.A. or higher. All of this would not have been possible if not for the tireless efforts of the FC faculty, staff, and the INCITE Program.

The Academic Athletic Awards was the creation of beloved former Head Football Coach Gene Murphy who poured his heart and soul into furthering the education of Fullerton College student-athletes. Athletic Director Scott Giles carries on Coach Murphy's tradition by creating an atmosphere on campus where students-athletes are rewarded for their efforts, and given the proper tools to help further their success at the next level.

This year's award recipients are as follows:

Mike Steinkellner Scholarship Award
Adriana Sousa (softball)

Donna Cherry Most Inspirational Player Award
Jordan Watkins (m. basketball)

Bud Dawson Memorial Scholarship Award
Daniel Tuerffs (baseball)

Ed Carroll Award
Nick Anderson (m. basketball)

Male Athletes of the Year
Jordan Hoy (football)
Ian Fox (m. basketball)

Female Athlete of the Year
Gabbi Perez (w. water polo) 

Arthur Nunn Memorial Award
Xavier Chisolm (football)

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
Nathan Trent (football)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year
Tiffiny Centeno (softball)

INCITE Awards (Top 10 Hours)
Nick Anderson
Maya Langarica
Irene Jimenez
Omar Elgohary
Kristen Sheriff
Kristine Perez
Ethan Sheatz
Sophia Arrieta
Noel Dominguez
Asante Wilder

INCITE Diligence Awards
Fall - Asante Wilder (football)
Spring – Noel Dominguez (Track & Field)

INCITE Coaches Awards
Fall - Greg Aviles (M. Soccer)
Spring - Gina Bevec & Sean Sheil (Track & Field)

INCITE Team Awards
Fall - Men's Basketball
Spring - Softball

Coach of the Year
Tim Byrnes (football)

Bill Chambers Award
Bibiana Ramirez

Dr. Philip McFarland Award
Ruth Carmona

Special Recognition Award
Jim McCormack

Hornet Scholars

BASEBALL: Robert Leffler, Noah Tostado, Kevin Foley, Eric Calderas, Jake Anderson, Carter Kimberly, Austin Case, Logan Lannon, Daniel Tuerffs

M. BASKETBALL: Jonathan Ross, Kai Villeza, Kenny Barnes, Dillon Reise, Mitch Vines

W. BASKETBALL: Raelynn Denson, Raquel Licea, Monica Hanna


M. CROSS COUNTRY: Ethan Sheatz

FOOTBALL: Rashad Harris, Tristan Tristao, Domonic Sanchez, Aoese Oto, Jacob Smith, Justin Parcells, Paul Sims, Tanner Gill, Christian Williams, Nick Della Rocco, Daniel Robinson, Nathan Trent, Chris Ta, Xavier Chisolm, Matthew Donaldson, D'Angelo Ross, Robert Sanko, Mitchell Hurtado

M. SOCCER: Gerard Abessolo, Eduin Munguia, Levi Williams, Kory Edwards, Heriberto Gomez, Miguel Iniguez, Leonardo Paredes

W. SOCCER: Irene Jimenez, Maya Langarica, Kennedy Heywood, Amalia Serna, Diana Ordaz, Emily Valdez

SOFTBALL: Kylie Patrick, Adriana Sousa, Melissa Madrigal, Tiffiny Centeno

M. SWIM: Jordan Lindberg, Sebastian Feldman, Jesus Rios

W. SWIM: Katrina McGrath, Taylor Cunningham, Tatiana McGrath

M. TRACK & FIELD: Noel Dominguez, Joshua Spillane

W. TENNIS: Kaylie Laubie

M TENNIS: Sean McCormack

M. VOLLEYBALL: Anton Nguyen

W. VOLLEYBALL: Charity Dennis

M. WATER POLO: Chance Lyster, Alexander Ardalan, Miles Babad

W. WATER POLO: Summer Sota, Shannon Tully, Natalie Manzanares, Chole Sanchez, Marissa Vaccher, Kathleen Seitz

Like us on Facebook!