Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



21st ANNUAL ACADEMIC ATHLETIC AWARDS: Athletes, parents, faculty, administration, and the rest of the Hornet Nation all came together in the North Gym on Tuesday afternoon for the 21st annual Academic Athletic Awards honoring excellence in academics and athletic achievement.

Another great year was had for the Fullerton College Athletic Department that included the 2017 football team completing their quest as back-to-back State and National Champions with a 13-0 record. There were many teams and individuals that had great success wearing the navy, gold, and white. For that, the Fullerton College Physical Education/Athletic Department honored those deserving student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom and on the playing field. Scholarship awards were handed out to those diligent sophomores so they can further their education and succeed at the next level.

Many of the Fullerton College athletes were also honored as Hornet Scholars maintaining a 3.0 G.P.A. or higher completing at least 24 units. All of this would not have been possible if not for the tireless efforts of the FC faculty, staff, and the INCITE Program.

The Academic Athletic Awards was the creation of beloved former Head Football Coach Gene Murphy who poured his heart and soul into furthering the education of Fullerton College student-athletes. Athletic Director Scott Giles carries on Coach Murphy's tradition by creating an atmosphere on campus where students-athletes are rewarded for their efforts, and given the proper tools to help further their success not only on the playing field but also in life.

This year's award recipients are as follows:

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
Cody Darrow (football)

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year
Tiffiny Centeno (softball)

Mike Steinkellner Scholarship Award
Jake Anderson (baseball)

Donna Cherry Most Inspirational Player Award / OEC Character Champion Award Winner
Melody Thomsen (w. basketball)

Bud Dawson Memorial Scholarship Award
Rashad Harris (football)

Ed Carroll Award
Tyler Grassi (m. soccer) 

Male Athlete of the Year
Montre Bonner (football) 

Female Athlete of the Year
Tatsiana Loscutoff (w. soccer)

Arthur Nunn Memorial Award
Eryka Springer (softball)

Emanuel Acevedo - Men's Soccer
Alejandro Castillo - Men's Soccer
Lillian Ballestero - Women's Basketball
Lani Maehara - Women's Basketball
Dylan Banks - Men's Basketball
Jesse Esquivel-Ontiveros - Track & Field
Kimberly Mataia - Track & Field
Desiree Guzman - Softball
Nia Rodman – Softball – Also Named Transfer Student of the Year
Kaylyn Johnson - Women's Volleyball
Ka'Dedrick Richardson - Football
Daniel Sanchez - Football

Coaches of the Year
Garrett Campbell (football - Off. Coordinator)
Brian Crooks (football - Def. Coordinator)

Team of the Year
2017 Football Undefeated State & National Champions

Special Recognition Award
Gerald Padilla

Hornet Scholars 

Baseball: Jake Anderson, Kevin Foley, Jesse Hayes, Sean Henry, Roberto Jaime, Lourence Kao, Chase Kerr

W. Basketball: Kristen Sheriff, Marcella Tanuvasa

M. Cross Country: Ryan Sheatz

W. Cross Country: Kaitlyn Holt

Football: Johnny Carmack , Cody Darrow, Mark Escobar, Anthony Foster, Justin Franks, Eric Pulliam, Kane Wilson

W. Golf: Gwendelyn Bates

M. Soccer: Fabian Caldera, Nicholas Davila, Heriberto Gomez, Melchor Gomez, Tyler Grassi, Matthew Molina, Armando Torres

W. Soccer: Sophia Arrieta, Marriah Gishwiller, Tatsiana Loscotoff, Brooke Morris

Softball: Tiffiny Centeno, Alexis Contreras, Vanessa Coronado, Baylee Giordano, Morena Ramirez, Eryka Springer, Natasha Trujillo

M. Swim: Matthews Brondani, Jin Choi Min

W. Swim: Sophia Gaitatjis

M. Track & Field: Omar Elgohary, Raymond Gomez-Garcia, Ryan Sheatz

W. Track & Field: Jordyn Reese

W. Tennis: Lael Cardinal, Mayumi Okubo

M. Tennis: Moises Esteves, Jose Flores Vera

M. Volleyball: Kyle Young

W. Vplleyball: Rebecca Hicks, Kristine Perez

M. Water Polo: Leon Chen, Kyle Degen, Brandon Kepley, Lino Vaccher

W. Water Polo: Annelise Hernandez, Shannon Tully, Bianca Vera

Like us on Facebook!